Theology in Aisle Seven



Price: $4.99


Carolyn Arends

Order Now:


Most people know Carolyn Arends as a musician and songwriter. But as Billboard Magazine put it, Carolyn is “one of the most affecting communicators in any genre.”

In Theology in Aisle Seven Carolyn writes about a full-orbed Christian spirituality.  She reflects on everything from the sobering judgment of God to what she calls “the serious business” of laughter.  No matter the topic she addresses, she offers a refreshing, creative glimpse into the Christian life.  All in 25 snapshot chapters—perfect for about a month of thoughtful devotional reading.


Order Now:


Table of Contents






The Good God

Chapter 1   Revealing Love: We can’t see God clearly without Jesus

Chapter 2   Initiator: Come, Lord Jesus—oh, wait—he’s already here

Chapter 3   Merciful Victor: Why defeat at the hands of God is magnificent

Chapter 4   Gracious Judge: Is there any story about God that isn’t a love story?

Chapter 5   Benevolent Lawgiver: Why God’s law is good news


Life in God

Chapter 6   Desiring God: Addiction is the spiritual disease of our time

Chapter 7   Letting Go of God: Trying to organize a God who transcends

Chapter 8   Expansive Faith: Why the narrow way is huge

Chapter 9   Reading Beyond Comprehension: The surprises of Scripture

Chapter 10 Acting like Family: God’s party is for all of us

Chapter 11 Enduring Holiness: The blessings—and dangers—of divine proximity


Common Things that Matter Greatly

Chapter 12 Laughter Is Serious Business: Joy

Chapter 13 Saying More Than We Can Say: The Arts

Chapter 14 Between the Couch and a 10k: The Body

Chapter 15 The Risks God Takes: The Church


Uncommon Virtues

Chapter 16 Hardworking Sloths: Trust

Chapter 17 What to Do with Anger: Meekness

Chapter 18 A Forgotten Key to Dynamic Worship: Hospitality

Chapter 19 Schooled by an Usher: Humility

Chapter 20 Allowing for Space in the Music: Silence into the World


Into the World

Chapter 21 Helping Make Shalom: Our unique vocation

Chapter 22 Loving the Lawbreaker: Neighbor love

Chapter 23 Hiding What They Seek: Learning to share Jesus


Last Things

Chapter 24 Going Down Singing: The gift of mortality

Chapter 25 Lessons from a Headless Snake: God’s coming victory


Order Now:

Also See: