Holiness Roots

1867 National Holiness Association forms in Vineland, New Jersey

1879 Isaiah Reed forms the largest holiness association in America, the Iowa Holiness Association

1887 A. B. Simpson founds the Christian and Missionary Alliance to promote the Holiness "Fourfold Gospel"

1895 B. H. Irwin teaches a third blessing "baptism of Fire," splitting the Iowa Holiness Association and forming the Iowa Fire-Baptized Holiness Association

1896 Schearer Schoolhouse Fire-Baptized Holiness revival experiences tongues

1897 Charles H. Mason and C.T. Jones form the Church of God in Christ in Lexington, Mississippi

1898 First congregation of the Pentecostal Holiness Church in Goldsboro, North Carolina

Pentecostal Birth

1901 Agnes Ozman speaks in tongues in Topeka. Charles Parham calls tongues the "Bible evidence" for baptism in the Spirit

1902 First congregation of the Church of God formed at Camp Creek, North Carolina

1905 William Seymour accepts Pentecostal doctrine from Parham in Houston, Texas

1906 First General Assembly of the Church of God (Cleveland, Tenn.)

1906-1909 Azusa Street Revival; Pentecostalism becomes global under Seymour's leadership

1907 T. B. Barrett opens Pentecostal meetings in Oslo. Begins Pentecostal movements in Scandinavia, England, and Germany

1907 G. B. Cashwell spreads Pentecostalism in the South

1908 John G. Lake begins South African Apostolic Faith Mission

1908 Church of God (Cleveland, Tenn.) accepts Pentecostalism under A. J. Tomlinson

1909 Luigi Francescon and Giacomo Lombardi begin Italian Pentecostal movements in the U.S., Italy, Argentina, and Brazil

1909 German evangelicals condemn Pentecostals in the "Berlin Declaration"

1909 Florence Crawford founds the Apostolic Faith Church in Portland, Oregon

Subscriber Access OnlyYou have reached the end of this Article Preview

To continue reading, subscribe now. Subscribers have full digital access.

Already a CT subscriber? for full digital access.