5 Books to Read During an Internet Sabbatical

Seeking a renewed perspective on the heels of a personal and professional breakdown, Esther Emery unplugged from the Internet for an entire year. Emery, a former theater director, recounts this experience in her memoir, What Falls from the Sky: How I Disconnected with the Internet and Reconnected with the God Who Made the Clouds (Zondervan). Here, she chooses five books to read during an Internet sabbatical.

Leisure, the Basis of Culture, by Josef Pieper

The most important book that nobody knows, this slim volume of readable philosophy draws a connection between rest—freedom from labor—and the human capacity for worship. A Catholic philosopher in the tradition of Thomas Aquinas, Pieper traces the error by which economic progress and workplace efficiency are confused with the good life, comforting anyone who has ever tried to jump off the hamster wheel in search of a higher prize.

Found: a Story of Questions, Grace and Everyday Prayer, by Micha Boyett

It can be lonely work to go against the grain, looking for meaning in ordinary moments while the world rushes to the next shiny thing. Boyett’s personal memoir of motherhood, daily life, and Benedictine spirituality is a perfect companion for days when the quiet life seems too quiet. Boyett seeks God in the everyday, excavating her heart with the care of an archeologist and sharing her findings with the gentle persuasion of a loving friend.

Walden, or, Life in the Woods, by Henry David Thoreau

Arguably the original “year without” writer, Thoreau remains a go-to source on living—and defining—the simple life. First published in 1854, Walden is the story of Thoreau’s escape from society to live for two years as a hermit in the woods. Thoreau ...

Subscriber access only You have reached the end of this Article Preview

To continue reading, subscribe now. Subscribers have full digital access.

November
Subscribe to CT and get one year free.
From Issue:
Christianity Today
5 Books to Read During an Internet Sabbatical
hide thisDecember December

In the Magazine

December 2016

To continue reading, subscribe now for full print and digital access.